Judy Goddard Award

Charline Profiri – Winner of the 2016 Children’s Award


Charline describes herself as a “desert rat” who grew up in Phoenix, Arizona. She graduated from Arizona State University with a BA in Elementary Education, and afterwards, taught in  kindergarten through third grades in various schools in Phoenix, Saudi Arabia, and Tucson. She now lives in Tucson.

Her most recent book is Guess Who’s in the Desert, published in 2013. She has written for children of all ages – everything from board books to novels. Her stories, articles, and poems have appeared in “Highlights for Children,” “High Five,” “Pockets” and other publications.

0 (1)
Jan Anderson Secretary of Libraries, Ltd. presents the award to Charline Profiri.

Charline has received many awards for her work, including a 2012 children’s fiction award from the organization “Writers Unite to Fight Cancer” for her story, “Victor’s Gifts.” In 2010, she was a finalist in the Southwest Writers’ Annual Writing Contest for Middle Grade/YA fiction for her story, “Elvis, Ruby and Me.”

Erin Jade Lange – Winner of the 2016 Young Adult Award


Erin writes facts by day and fiction by night. As a journalist, she is inspired by current events and real world issues and uses her writing to explore how those issues impact teenagers.

She was an only child, and states that she spent a lot of time entertaining herself as a kid. This required her to rely heavily on her own imagination, which is probably why she became a writer. Her books have been published all over the world, including Thailand, South Korea, Germany and Spain.

Her first novel, Butter, was named a YALSA 2013 Teens’ Top Ten Pick by the American Library Association.

Her most recent book, Rebel, Bully, Geek, Pariah, was published in February of this year.Erin grew up in rural Illinois, but now lives in the Phoenix area.


What is the “Judy Goddard Award”?

Sensing the importance of recognizing authors and illustrators whose work captures the uniqueness of Arizona and the Southwest, Judy Goddard, the founder of Libraries, Ltd., worked with members of the Arizona State Library Association in 1983 to establish an award for excellence in books about Arizona for children.

Originally, the award was named the Arizona Author Award. In 1997, this evolved into two awards: one for children’s authors and illustrators and the other for writers for the young adult audience. At this time, the boards of both organizations voted to change the name of the awards to honor the work of the awards’ sponsor. The awards were renamed the Judy Goddard/Libraries, Ltd. Arizona Children’s Author/Illustrator Award and the Judy Goddard/Libraries, Ltd. Arizona Young Adult Author Award.

The criteria for the awards are flexible, specifying only that the recipient be a living writer, preferably one who lives in Arizona or has lived in the state or the immediately surrounding region, or met the requirements until his or her recent death. The children’s award goes to books intended for children up to twelve years old. The young adult author award is intended for readers twelve to nineteen years old. Selection committees are comprised of members from both Libraries, Ltd., and the Arizona State Library Association. As stated above, the committees look for books with an Arizona setting or connection; however, other books of literary merit are sometimes chosen, particularly those written for young adults.

In over 30 years of history, these awards have represented a wide variety of types and styles of literature. The selected recipients are honored guests and featured speakers at the Libraries, Ltd. annual spring luncheon meeting.